In brief
Fifteen of the twenty tools have a trial and four have a free tier. Five trials say no card in plain words: AffiliateRail, Tolt, FirstPromoter, Reditus and Komissio. First paid months run from $15 to $500. Ten tools publish no cut from the payout and route the money through your own account or a file. A payout fee is that cut, and it is the number that grows with you, so cross the free-to-try list with the no-cut list and the startup shortlist is eight tools.
No card. Cancel in one click.
Which affiliate software should a startup use?
In shortOne that costs nothing to try, publishes no cut from each payout, and is under $60 a month once it is live. Nineteen of the twenty tools I priced meet the first test. Ten meet the second. Eight meet all three. Which of the eight depends on your billing system and on whether you want the payout to run itself.
The research method was simple. I read twenty vendors' pricing pages between 1 and 7 September 2026, looking for three things a startup cares about and a large program does not. Is there a free trial or a free tier, and does it take a card. What does the first paid month cost. And what comes off each payout, because a cut hurts most when every dollar is early. The links are in the sources.
Three words first. A free tier is a plan that costs nothing for as long as you stay under its limit. A trial is a paid plan you use free for a fixed number of days. And a payout fee is a cut the tool takes from the money on its way to the affiliate, on top of the monthly price. A startup should know all three before it commits to anything.
We replaced our free plan with a 14-day free trial of the Growth plan. No credit card required.
| Tool | Try it free | Card to start | First paid month | Payout fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AffiliateRail | 14 days | No | $29 founding | 0% |
| Tolt | 14 days | No | $69 | 2% plus $8 an invoice on auto payouts |
| Rewardful | 14 days | Not stated | $49 | 3% on Managed Payouts |
| FirstPromoter | 14 days | No | $49 | Not published |
| Tapfiliate | 7 days on the $89 plan | Not stated | $89 | None from the tool; your own Trolley or a CSV |
| Affonso | 14 days | Not stated | From $15 | $25 an invoice plus 3.25% on managed payouts |
| PromoteKit | Free tier to three referrals | Not stated | $39, or $29 yearly | None; a CSV to your own PayPal or Wise |
| Partnero | 30 days | Not stated | $59 | None from your own account |
| Trackdesk | 14 days | Not stated | $399 | None published; a CSV or your own Tipalti |
| Partli | 7 days | Yes | $29 | $0 on its pricing page; its docs describe $4 a month per paid partner over a limit |
| Ambassly | 14 days | Not stated | $39 | None printed |
| Dub | 14 days | Not stated | $90 | 5% |
| Komissio | 14 days | No | $49 | None published; payouts on Stripe Connect |
| PartnerStack | Free tier (Spark) | Not stated | On quote | 10% of every commission |
| Reditus | 14 days | No | $149 | 2% by invoice or 5% by card |
| Endorsely | Free tier to $1,000 | No | $39 | No commission fees printed; the route is not published |
| Impact.com | No trial stated | Yes, when you register | $500 | 20% past $2,500 a month |
| LeadDyno | 30 days | Not stated | $49 | None printed |
| Refgrow | 7 days | Not stated | $29 | None |
| refVenue | Free tier | No | $25 | None |
Which ones cost nothing to try?
In shortFour have a free tier: PromoteKit to three referrals, Endorsely to $1,000 of affiliate revenue, refVenue, and PartnerStack's Spark plan. Fifteen have a trial, from 7 to 30 days. Five of those say no card in plain words: AffiliateRail, Tolt, FirstPromoter, Reditus and Komissio. Partli takes a card for its 7 days. Impact takes one when you register, with no trial stated.
A free tier is the cheapest way to learn what you want. PromoteKit's runs until three referrals have converted, with unlimited affiliates. Endorsely's Starter runs to $1,000 of affiliate revenue. refVenue's Free plan has no card and "no cap on earnings". PartnerStack's Spark is free to start and takes 10% of every commission you pay, so it is free until it is not. All four connect to Stripe, and Endorsely and refVenue to Paddle and Lemon Squeezy as well.
A trial is the better way to test the payout, because a free tier rarely lets you run one. The 30-day trials are Partnero and LeadDyno. The 14-day trials are most of the rest. The 7-day trials are Refgrow, Partli, and Tapfiliate on its $89 plan. On a trial, get one real affiliate, one real sale, and one real payout through before the days run out. That is the only test that matters, and fourteen days is enough for it.
What does the first paid month cost?
In shortFrom $15 to $500. Affonso is from $15, on yearly billing. refVenue is $25. AffiliateRail, Partli and Refgrow are $29. PromoteKit, Ambassly and Endorsely are $39. Rewardful, FirstPromoter, Komissio and LeadDyno are $49. Partnero is $59. Tolt is $69, Tapfiliate $89, Dub $90. Reditus is $149 a month, Trackdesk $399, Impact $500.
The entry price is the number every pricing page leads with, and it is the least useful of the three. A startup's program does a few hundred dollars of affiliate revenue in its first months. At that size the difference between $29 and $49 is real but small. What grows with the program is the payout fee, and what grows with the price bands is the monthly figure. So read the entry price last, after the fee and the band.
AffiliateRail's $29 is a founding price against a $59 list price. It is held for the life of the subscription, so a startup that joins at $29 keeps $29 after the list price applies to everyone else. The Launch plan covers up to $10,000 a month of affiliate revenue with no overage, then Grow is $59 to $20,000. A founding price is an early price a vendor keeps for the customers who joined before it rose.
When does a startup outgrow its first plan?
In shortWhen the affiliates bring in more revenue than the plan's band covers. Every banded tool has a ceiling on its first plan. Dub's Business stops at $2,500 of payouts a month. FirstPromoter's Starter stops at $5,000 of affiliate revenue. Rewardful's at $7,500. AffiliateRail's Launch, PromoteKit's Pro and Tolt's Basic all stop at $10,000. Flat tools have no ceiling.
A revenue band is the range of monthly affiliate revenue a plan covers before the next plan applies. Let's say your program grows to $12,000 a month. On AffiliateRail you move from Launch at $29 to Grow at $59, which covers up to $20,000. On Tolt you move from Basic at $69 to Growth at $99. On Rewardful you passed Starter's $7,500 a while ago and are on Growth at $99. On Endorsely you left the free tier at $1,000 and Pro at $5,000, and are on Scale at $99.
The flat tools do not move. Partnero stays at $59 with no ceiling. Refgrow stays at $29 on Starter until you want a feature on a higher plan. LeadDyno's bands are by affiliate count, not revenue. So a startup that expects to grow fast has a choice. A banded tool that is cheap now and steps up later, or a flat tool that costs the same at $500 a month of affiliate revenue as at $50,000. The flat-fee page works through that trade.
Which take nothing from the payout?
In shortTen of the twenty publish no cut and route the money through your own account or a file you send: AffiliateRail, Tapfiliate, PromoteKit, Partnero, Trackdesk, Ambassly, Komissio, LeadDyno, Refgrow and refVenue. Cross that with a first paid month under $60 and the list is eight: AffiliateRail, PromoteKit, Partnero, Ambassly, Komissio, LeadDyno, Refgrow and refVenue. That is the startup shortlist.
The cut matters early because early payouts are small and frequent. Let's say your first quarter brings $2,000 a month of affiliate revenue and you pay 20%. That is $400 of payouts. Dub takes $20 of it. PartnerStack takes $40. Rewardful takes $12 on Managed Payouts. Those are not large numbers. But they are the same percentage at $2,000 a month and at $20,000 a month, and by then they are large. A fee that is nothing stays nothing.
What you pay instead is the payout method's own fee. PayPal's Payouts fee is a flat 0.25 USD a payment by API in US dollars. Wise sends from 0.24%. The difference between the two groups on the automatic payouts page is who presses the button. On the own-account tools the tool computes the batch and your PayPal or Wise sends it. On the others the tool takes your money first. The custody page quotes each vendor on which it is.
What should a startup set up first?
In shortFour things, in the first week. Connect the billing system, so sales are matched without anyone typing them in. Set the hold and the minimum, so refunds land before money leaves. Write the commission rule and the one-page terms. Then invite ten affiliates you already know, before you invite anyone you do not.
Imagine you register on AffiliateRail on a Monday. The program comes seeded: a default group, a 20% commission flow, a 14-day holding period, a $20.00 minimum payout, and sample data offered on an empty dashboard. You connect Stripe or Paddle and paste one script tag. The manual covers the rule and the terms, and the first-ten-affiliates guide covers who to ask. A holding period is the wait between a sale and the commission becoming payable, so a refund can land first.
Every tool on the table lets you do the same four things. The differences for a startup are the ones on the table: whether you can try it without a card, what the first month costs, and whether a cut follows you as you grow. The twenty-tool page has the billing systems and the price bands, and the free affiliate software page goes deeper on the four free tiers.
$29 a month founding, held for life, 0% of every payout
Fourteen days with no card. A 20% flow, a 14-day hold and a $20 minimum on day one. Payouts run from your own PayPal or Wise.
Every price and trial on this page was read off the vendor's own pricing page on the date beside it in the sources. Prices change. Run your own numbers on the calculator before you choose.
Common questions
Which affiliate software is free for startups?
Four tools have a free tier. PromoteKit is free until three referrals have converted, with unlimited affiliates, on Stripe. Endorsely's Starter is free to $1,000 of affiliate revenue. refVenue's Free plan takes no card and caps nothing. PartnerStack's Spark is free to start and takes 10% of every commission you pay out. The rest offer a trial of 7 to 30 days instead.
Which affiliate tools do not need a credit card to start?
Five trials say so in plain words: AffiliateRail, Tolt, FirstPromoter, Reditus and Komissio, each for 14 days. The free tiers on Endorsely and refVenue say no card too. Partli takes a card for its 7-day trial. Impact takes a card when you register and charges it when the first partner actions are tracked.
What does affiliate software cost for a startup in the first month?
From $15 to $500. Affonso is from $15 on yearly billing. refVenue is $25. AffiliateRail, Partli and Refgrow are $29. PromoteKit, Ambassly and Endorsely are $39. Rewardful, FirstPromoter, Komissio and LeadDyno are $49. Partnero is $59. Tolt is $69, Tapfiliate $89, Dub $90, Reditus $149 a month, Trackdesk $399, Impact $500. AffiliateRail's $29 is a founding price held for the life of the subscription against a $59 list price.
Why does the payout fee matter more than the price for a startup?
Because the price is fixed and the fee grows with the program. On $400 of monthly payouts, Dub's 5% is $20 and PartnerStack's 10% is $40. On ten times the payouts, ten times the fee. Ten tools publish no cut and route the money through your own account or a file: AffiliateRail, Tapfiliate, PromoteKit, Partnero, Trackdesk, Ambassly, Komissio, LeadDyno, Refgrow and refVenue. PayPal's own fee is a flat 0.25 USD a payment by API in US dollars, and Wise sends from 0.24%.
Where these facts come from
Fact-checked and reviewed by Jimi Barkway on 7 September 2026. Every figure above was read off the document named here on the date beside it. To contact AffiliateRail about one, email support@affiliaterail.com and the figure is corrected and the date moved.
- The calculator's data file, one entry per vendor with the plan, the price and the payout fee read off each vendor's pricing page between 1 and 6 September 2026checked 6 September 2026
- Tolt pricing: 14 days free, no credit card requiredchecked 7 September 2026
- Rewardful pricing: a 14-day free trial on all planschecked 7 September 2026
- FirstPromoter pricing: a 14-day free trial, no credit card requiredchecked 7 September 2026
- Tapfiliate pricing: 7 days free on Launch at $89, 14 days on Scale, a 30-day trial on request for Enterprisechecked 7 September 2026
- Affonso pricing: from $15, geo-priced and defaulting to yearly billing; a 14-day free trialchecked 7 September 2026
- PromoteKit pricing and docs: free to three referrals, then $39 a month or $29 billed yearly; Stripe onlychecked 6 September 2026
- Partnero pricing: $59 flat, a 30-day free trialchecked 7 September 2026
- Trackdesk pricing: Business $399 monthly on the 3 September read; on 7 September the page showed a 40% annual promotion; a 14-day free trialchecked 3 September 2026
- Partli pricing and docs: $29, a 7-day trial that takes a card, $0 on the pricing page and $4 a month per paid partner over a limit in the docschecked 6 September 2026
- Ambassly pricing: $39 flat, a 14-day trialchecked 7 September 2026
- Dub pricing: Business $90 with a 14-day trial, 5% of payoutschecked 5 September 2026
- Komissio pricing: $49 flat, a 14-day free trial with no cardchecked 6 September 2026
- PartnerStack, Spark: $0 a month plus 10% of commissions paid outchecked 6 September 2026
- Reditus pricing: Growth $149 monthly, a 14-day trial with no card, 2% by invoice or 5% by cardchecked 6 September 2026
- Endorsely homepage and pricing: Start Free, no credit card required; no commission fees printed; Starter to $1,000, Pro $39checked 6 September 2026
- impact.com help centre, Essentials Edition billing: $500 a month, a card when you register, the first charge when partner actions are trackedchecked 6 September 2026
- LeadDyno pricing: from $49, a 30-day free trialchecked 6 September 2026
- Refgrow pricing: from $29, a 7-day free trialchecked 6 September 2026
- refVenue pricing: a free plan with no card and no cap on earnings, then $25 and $45checked 6 September 2026
- PayPal business fees: the flat 0.25 USD API fee per payout in US dollarschecked 6 September 2026
- Wise business pricing: sending from 0.24%checked 6 September 2026
- AffiliateRail docs, program setup: the 20% flow, the 14-day holding period, the 20.00 minimum, the 14-day trial with no card, the founding pricechecked 6 September 2026